I see paying attention isn’t really your thing…

My name is Rachael. It’s tricky, I know. There’s an extra vowel in there that just confuses everything. My parents had a thing for breaking the norms even though my sisters and I all have very common names–Brandi instead of Brandy, Jaime instead of Jamie and Rachael instead of Rachel. Rachel has been in the top 200 names for new babies since 1880 in the US (except for 1951, 1958 & 1959 at 202, 201 & 201, respectively). People see the name Rachel a lot, so I get it, you hear “Rachael” and think “Rachel.” but Rachel is not my name. It’s Rachael and I feel very strongly about that. People have been misspelling my name since before I can remember. There was a time when I was in elementary school that my mom had to meet with one of my teachers because she spelled my name wrong so frequently that I started spelling my own name wrong because I didn’t know teachers were allowed to be wrong about things, even my name.

I can get over seeing my name spelled wrong sometimes. It’s even spelled wrong on my paychecks from my part-time because I haven’t bothered correcting the accounting department even though they must have gotten that information from, I don’t know, the W-2 that I filled out. But what really grinds my gears is when someone responds to an email I sent with my name spelled incorrectly. I sent you an email, you saw it, you replied, you should know to match your response to the email that I sent. This was particularly annoying because the email came from the accountant for my full-time job which means that she sees my name pretty regularly. It’s really not a big deal, and I won’t correct her because meh. But honestly, take a second and look at the email you’re replying to because I would assume most people spell their own name correctly… unless of course they are 8 and their teachers spells it wrong…

I know it’s easy to miss… it only says my name several times throughout this correspondence…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

