Happier Things

My life used to be seem a lot more exciting… For a while, I was going out every weekend. Meeting guys. Partying. I barely had a job but I didn’t mind. I was couch surfing between my dad’s house, my sister’s place, and various friends’ homes. It was just me, my puppy and whoever struck my fancy that week. I was literally living out of my car–I kept a suitcase of a few outfits and all my shoes in my trunk. That sounds so exhausting now and I really only lived like that for about a year and a half? Two years? I don’t know, that time period kinda all blurs together. My friends used to tell me that they were living vicariously through me because I had just absolutely ridiculous stories. The kind of stories that you wouldn’t think happen in real life. Like that one New Years when a stranger told me that he’d do anything in the world to marry me because I was the perfect girl. He kept telling me I looked like the girl from “Scarlet A.” I had red hair then so I think he meant Emma Stone, and I was wearing a really low cut dress which is, apparently, his idea of marriage material. Or that time a guy I was dating invited me to a party he was already at with another girl. He was the biggest douchebag I’ve ever met and he was an idiot. I guess he didn’t think that she and I would actually talk and realize he’d been dating both of us. I’m still not sure how he was planning on getting out of that one.

Because I could definitely afford a $200 New Years dress when I was only working part time…

While those stories are probably funnier than one about my boyfriend and I playing cribbage (“Baby, you don’t have 10 points you have 16! Haha! I can’t believe you missed that!” Hilarious) and I had a lot of fun, I can say, unequivocally, that I am much, much happier now. I’m the kind of happy that’s deep in your bones. Content might be a better word. I was happy being wild before but this is a much better kind of happy. That’s not to say that having a boyfriend equals happiness, that’s certainly not the case for everyone and I really didn’t think I wanted or needed a boyfriend until this one settled himself into my life. I just think that for me, being a crazy, party animal was more of a phase than who I really am. I can’t go balls to the wall every weekend forever, and it’s tiring just thinking about it.

When I first met Boyfriend several months ago, I was actually being set up with someone else (because that’s how classy I am). A friend of mine had a friend whose work required a lot of travel, which makes for a great fling because nobody gets attached when you know one of you will be leaving before too long. So I went with my friend on a group outing with her boyfriend, his brother and a couple other of their mutual friends (including the one who travels for work). So we’re all hanging out, drinking and nothing happened. For a few days after that my friend kept asking me if her friend had called me, which he hadn’t. I really thought nothing of it because while I did think he was cute, I thought my friend’s boyfriend’s brother was a lot cuter. (Still with me?) A week or two later, my friend and her boyfriend were “having people over” for Taco Tuesday. “Having people over” turned out to be them, the brother and me. Well, long story short, the brother and I totally hit it off, and I can comfortably say that he’ll be around for a long time.

I found this fortune in my car yesterday. I got it a month or two before I met Boyfriend and I don’t remember why I saved it, but now I’m keeping it on my desk at work. I’ve only ever saved one other fortune cookie fortune before and it said, “You will have more money than you can spend.” I still have it… and I’m still waiting for that one to come true.

Categories: Boyfriend, happy things, my life | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

