Little Bee

I finished reading Little Bee by Chris Cleave yesterday and wow, what a great book!  This review is going to be somewhat precarious because on the back cover of the book, the author writes, “Once you have read it, you’ll want to tell your friends about it.  When you do, please don’t tell them what happens.  The magic is in how the story unfolds.”

So what I’ll say about the book is this.  Cleave really captured the personalities of the characters.  I like the voice of the story.  It’s written from two different characters’ perspectives as if they are recounting the story directly to the reader.  (I mentioned a similar writing style in Tana French’s In the Woods.)  This style was effective here too.  This story is heart-wrenching and captivating.  Once you start reading, you’ll have to finish it.

Since the author has asked readers to a) tell people to read this book and b) not mention what it’s about (other than it is about a chance meeting between two women with the story picking up two years later when they meet again), all I’ll say about this book is that you should read it.  The subject matter is heavy, but definitely worth reading.

And, side note, I really like Chris Cleave.  Not only is a great author, but he’s quite personable too.  He comments back to nearly every comment on his site.  I admire that dedication he has to his readers.  He is also the author of Incendiary, which I’ve heard is a great book but I haven’t read it yet.  I can say that I liked the movie that is based on the book, not that that means much since movies are rarely anything like the book they are adapted from.

Categories: book review, Reading | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

