Great Intentions, Poor Execution

I have a habit of starting projects and never finishing them (like that bookshelf I picked up for free in an alley and was going to paint and decorate and make lovely… Or the 700 other blogs I’ve started) or coming up with great ideas and never pursuing them (remember that time I was going to study abroad? Join the peacecorps? Culinary school? It’s embarrassing how many more I can think of on the spot so the list stops there…)

Unfortunately, people have started to catch on…

My best friend (who lives in Illinois) and I have planned many trips to take together that never happen. We recently started another idea and she basically said she likes thinking about all these trips even though she knows it’ll never happen.

My brother in law showed me a blog post of his that indirectly calls me out for wanting to do certain things with my life yet I’m just lazy when I get home from work.

And my younger sister just the other day said I shouldn’t buy the domain name for this very blog because “will you even be interested in it for long?” I dont know what bothered me more, how brazenly she said it or how true it really is.

I wish I could say these are the only examples of my lack of follow through but alas… I suck at finishing.

So I’ve decided not to tell anyone about this new venture until I gauge how serious I am about it (sad but necessary).

I have recently come to the realization that not everything I do has to have a direct impact on my future. This may seem strange because I feel like a lot of people already knew this, I didn’t. But now I know I can do things for the sake of doing something I enjoy. That’s the point of this blog. What will I be writing about? I’m not really sure yet. What will I be wearing when I to go out to dinner with my friends next week? Equally unanswerable… I change my mind a lot.

I have this tattoo on my side that says, “Oh Reckless Abandon, like no one’s watching you” It’s from one of my favorite songs (Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap). I think the message is beautiful and something we often forget. Live with reckless abandon, as if no one is watching. Anywho, that’s the real point of all this. I love writing… I have a degree in journalism and one of my favorite classes of both high school and college was my creative writing class. So now, I’m going to blog and write… like no one’s reading.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Great Intentions, Poor Execution

  1. 700 blogs is a lot. Habits are tough to form, but once you get into it things start to flow. Blogging is that way. Find out what you are passionate about and share it. Even if it is just a list of all the things you don’t finish. From one daydreamer to another, if you learn to focus and ship projects out the door, life can be amazing.

    Good luck…and I am glad I could be your first comment on blog 701.

  2. No problem. One of the random things I have been looking at on my blog is the shift from paper books to eReaders. Any thoughts or opinions on that one? Might make for some good post material.

    • That’s funny you brought that up, I was just thinking about the same thing the other day, I like the convenience of eReaders, but I like reading paper books better. I think I will write a longer post about that!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

